JOINT MUNICIPAL WATER AND SEWER COMMISSION

MINUTES February 5, 2025

The Joint Municipal Water and Sewer Commission held its Wednesday, February 5, 2025, meeting at the Commission office at 5:30 PM.

MEMBERS IN ATTENDANCE

Frank Shumpert, Chairman - Town of Pelion
Joseph Hardee, Vice-Chairman - Gilbert-Summit Rural Water District
Troy Bivens, Town of Gaston
Tim James, City of Cayce
Bobby Keisler, County of Lexington
Viola McDaniel, Town of Swansea
Tem Miles, City of West Columbia
Juston Ricard, Town of Springdale
Lancer Shull, Town of Batesburg-Leesville

OTHERS IN ATTENDANCE

Jay Nicholson, General Manager Stephanie Morton, Clerk to Commission Ashton Blocker, Finance Melinda Lee, Operations Lindsay Jumper, Customer Service Madeline Zimmerman, Finance Bucky Hanna, Operations Gene House, Operations Manager Guy Schmoltze, Engineering & Const. Barry Leaphart, Operations Candice Morris, Customer Service Sara Teem, Customer Service Brittany Harmon, Finance Bill Hancock, The Brittingham Group

The Chairman called the meeting to order.

Mr. Joseph Hardee gave the invocation. The pledge of Allegiance was said.

The Chairman confirmed the media had been notified.

Chairman Shumpert addressed item four (4) regarding consideration of minutes from the 1/8/25 meeting. Mr. Bobby Keisler made the motion to accept the minutes as submitted. Mr. Joseph Hardee seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

The Chairman addressed item five (5) Red Flag Rules update. Ms. Stephanie Morton gave an update to the board stating that there had been no major incidents, all the Commissions controls are in place, and there are no recommended changes.

Chairman Shumpert addressed item six (6) FYE 2024 ACFR presentation. Mr. Bill Hancock gave a presentation to the board and highlighted some items in the ACFR. Mr. Biff Blocker also gave a presentation to the board. Mr. Jay Nicholson thanked the Finance staff for all their hard work.

The Chairman addressed item seven (7) Executive Report. Mr. Jay Nicholson presented an informal report to the board. Mr. Nicholson updated the board on Legislative updates, staff updates, and technology updates. Mr. Nicholson recognized several staff members that received awards at the WEASC Capital District meeting in January. Ms. Sara Teem received the Customer Service Representative of the Year Award, Ms. Candice Morris received the Administrative Professional of the Year award, and Mr. Marion (Bucky) Hanna received the Safety Award for the Capital District.

The Chairman addressed item eight (8) Executive Session regarding Town of Swansea Operating Agreement and GM/CEO evaluation. Mr. Tem Miles made the motion to go into Executive Session. Mr. Tim James seconded the motion, and the motion passed unanimously.

Coming out of Executive Session the Chairman stated that the only motion made during Executive Session was the motion to come out of Executive Session.

Chairman Shumpert addressed item nine (9) regarding possible action following Executive Session. Mr. Tem Miles made the motion to authorize the salary and compensation package for Mr. Jay Nicholson as discussed in Executive Session. Mr. Tim James seconded the motion and the motion passed unanimously.

As there was no other business, Mr. Tem Miles made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mr. Joseph Hardee seconded the motion, and the motion passed unanimously. The meeting adjourned at 7:15pm.